Happening @ CAM

Eighth Annual CAM Sketch-a-thon at San Diego Comic-Con International

Thursday, July 24 through Sunday, July 27, 2014

$10 Suggested donation per sketch

The Cartoon Art Museum is pleased to announce its programming for this year’s San Diego Comic-Con International, to be held at the San Diego Convention Center from July 24-27, 2014.  This year marks the eighth annual CAM Sketch-a-thon, which features a host of artists donating their time and talents to support the museum in its fundraising efforts for exhibitions and programming.  This year’s roster includes professional animators, graphic novelists, newspaper strip cartoonists, political cartoonists, comic book illustrators, webcartoonists, underground cartoonists and self-publishers, providing the Cartoon Art Museum’s booth with one of the most diverse artistic populations at Comic-Con.  Featured artists include award-winning graphic novelists Raina Telgemeier (Smile!,Drama) and Brian Fies (The Last Mechanical Monster); syndicated comic strip artists Lalo Alcaraz (La Cucaracha), Ray Billingsley (Curtis), Brian Crane (Pickles), Greg Evans (Luann), Keith Knight (The Knight Life) and Rina Piccolo (Tina’s Groove); Adventure Time character designers Andy Ristaino and Phil Rynda; MAD Magazine‘s Tom Richmond, and dozens of other talented cartoonists!

Artists will draw for visitors during one-hour sessions at the Cartoon Art Museum’s booth, #1930 on the convention floor.  In exchange for a donation of $10 or more to the Cartoon Art Museum, supporters will receive a customized convention sketch from a professional cartoonist.

Our tentative schedule follows:


Thursday, July 24

11am-12pm: Lea Hernandez, Greg Vidal
12-1pm: Alan Groening, Rick Lucey
1-2pm: Keith Knight, Seamus Smith
2-3pm: Lex Fajardo, Theodore Lee
3-4pm: Kraig Rasmussen, Jon Macy
4-5pm: Mike Hampton, Sinclair Klugarsh
5-6pm: Ray Friesen, Jonathan La Mantia

Friday, July 25

11am-12pm: Tom Richmond, Debbie Huey
12-1pm: Phil Foglio, Kraig Rasmussen
1-2pm: Bryan Graham, Brian Crane
2-3pm: Brian Fies, Matt Harding
3-4pm: Rick Lucey, Topher Davila
4-5pm: Danni Michele, Bill Robinson
5-6pm: Jen Vaughn, Malachi Ward, Matt Sheean

Saturday, July 26

10-11am: Greg Vidal, Greg Espinoza
11am-12pm: Raina Telgemeier, Rina Piccolo
12-1pm: Lalo Alcaraz, Sinclair Klugarsh
1-2pm: Alex Schumacher, Jonathan La Mantia, David Lasky
2-3pm: Michael Aushenker, Rafael Navarro

3-4pm: Andy Ristaino, Phil Rynda

4-5pm: Daniele Archambault, Larry Marder
5-6pm: Greg Evans, Ray Billingsley
6-7pm: Kraig Rasmussen, Luis Calderon

Sunday, July 27

11am-12pm: Jon Macy, Matt Harding
12-1pm: Jen Vaughn, Derek Charm
1-2pm: Nidhi Chanani, TK Watkins
2-3pm: Seamus Smith, Denny Ricelli
3-4pm: Kraig Rasmussen, Batton Lash
4-5pm: Andrew Farago



Comment from David Rounick
Time July 15, 2013 at 10:37 am

What an awesome promotion! I’ll happily donate for a personal cartoon!

Comment from Jason Hanks
Time July 15, 2013 at 9:39 pm

Count me in Jen!